This fake PayPal ad on Facebook promises 20 euros for free

This fake PayPal ad on Facebook promises 20 euros for free

There is a maxim that every user should burn into memory that says: 'If it is too good to be true, it is not'. Safe jobs at Mercadona, free flights at Ryanair, a free Lancôme makeup box ... All those messages that we see on messaging networks and applications, too juicy to pass up are the first ones that the user should avoid, since the only intention of What publishes is to get hold of the user's personal data, their credit card number and different passwords to access services.

Watch out for this PayPal ad on Facebook

And sadly, these types of scams seem to have no end. The last one we have news of is a false Paypal advertisement that promises to give users a check for 20 euros . All they have to do is verify their account through a link, of course false. Its advertising reads like this:

"The online payment processor is giving away € 20 during this month of April on the occasion of the twentieth anniversary operating worldwide, active customers have the right to the promotion by accessing and verifying their account through the promotional link"

This type of scam, very common especially in emails, is called 'Phishing'. With Phishing, the cybercriminal impersonates the image and design of a recognized website and, through it, takes over the user's credentials or 'forces' them to make certain movements that end up with a hole in the affected person's checking account. There are different ways to avoid a Phishing attack, such as verifying, conscientiously, if the referred link conforms to reality or if they appear in the same strange characters. In the case of the PayPal scam, the URL to which the user was directed was the following: ' facebook.com/PayPal-España-405625166683700 ′. It is obvious that the web does not coincide at all with reality, since we see a numerical code that does not exist in the legitimate URL: 'es-es.facebook.com/PayPalEspana/'.

paypal facebook

Phishing: a recurring form of scam

Thanks to the fact that Google Chrome has, pre-installed, an alert against Phishing and other scams, the user, when trying to enter the URL addressed through the advertisement, will see a warning of danger appear on the screen : " " The website to which you are going to agree is misleading. Attackers on peerttttreeeeyyyrrreoal.esy.es may be trying to trick you into taking a dangerous action, such as installing software or revealing your personal information (for example, passwords, phone numbers, or credit cards) ”.

phishing

All this has already been denounced by the Federation of Associations of Consumers and Users of Andalusia (FACUA), advising users who may have fallen for the scam to change, immediately, the password of their PayPal service, making sure to choose one that is robust enough to prevent access by third parties. To do this, the Android user has on Google Play a series of applications that generate automatic passwords. This way, the user will not have to remove any combination that, in the end, does not get really useful.

On our pages we have warned you about these Phising attacks, how to recognize and avoid them. Prevention is the best cure so always keep your guard up.