For some time now, Google Photos has become an indispensable tool for synchronizing and storing the photos we take with our mobile. It is, without a doubt, the best way to preserve the images we capture from our pocket device without danger of losing them. Because otherwise, and outside of the cloud, we would run the risk of losing our most valuable snapshots in any incident.
Be that as it may, Google Photos also runs the risk of being overloaded. In principle, users who sign up for a Google account have 15 GB of storage space at their disposal. However, this space is shared with the rest of the associated content, which can be documents or the email itself.
Images from Google Photos can be deleted at any time. Once deleted, they will remain in the trash for 60 days and after this time, they will disappear permanently. And therefore, they will free up the space that they occupied until now. The point is that after that period they can no longer be recovered. Now, in a new version of Google Photos, the system notifies users of the time left for the photo to disappear permanently.
How to know how long a photo has left
There is a new functionality that is underway in Google Photos and that is operational in version 4.51 for common users. It is possible, you must take it into account, that you still do not have this option activated, but calm down. It will be made available to all Google Photos users soon, even through slow deployment.
The truth is that it is not a very important characteristic . Not until we remember that we deleted (willingly or by mistake) a very valuable image, which we would now like to recover. And we run to the trash can to try to rescue her.
From now on, users will be able to access the trash to check how much time their images have left before disappearing completely and decide if, in the end, they decide to restore them so that they return to their original location and do not end up being permanently and irretrievably lost. .
If you want to know how much time a photo has left, follow these steps:
1. Update your Google Photos application. Most likely, this process (if you have it configured on your mobile) has been carried out automatically. Either way, make sure you have the most recent version of this tool.
2. It's as easy as accessing the hamburger menu, located at the top left of the screen. From here, select Trash . At the beginning of the screen, you will see that a legend appears indicating that the images will be permanently removed from the trash after 60 days. After that time, if it has not occurred to you to rescue them, you will no longer have access to them. No matter how hard you try.
You can recover or delete them yourself
3. That is why it is so important that you know that this function exists. Inside the trash, select the deleted image. At the bottom you will see (if you already have the new function operational) how many days the image has left to be permanently deleted. Thus, you will read, for example, "There are 24 days left for it to be permanently deleted."
4. At this point you have two options. You can choose Delete, so that it disappears directly. Or, if you need to recover it, hit the Restore button. When you do, the photo will return to its place of origin, so that you can locate it, ordered by capture date, on the main Google Photos screen.
5. Finally, you should know that if you restored the image and you wanted to go back, you could press the undo button and the photo would return to the trash. The counter would continue at the same point, so that the 60-day period that Google Photos gives from the start would not be restored.